Home Dota 2

Lalzy's slow workshop

Hello there polycount fellas !

I'm kinda new around here, have been registered since dota2 contest but have only lurked since then. After seeing so much good work being done around here I eventually decided to step up and start sharing my own stuff. Or more like sharing what I will do from now on :)

I did a presentation back then, but since it's lost in the flow of time I'll briefly introduce myself again. My name is Joackim, I'm 19 and I'm currently an art student. I live in Nice, France, and already apology for my fishy english :poly136: I had no formation in 3D modeling, and have only been learning by myself, so I kinda suck. That's why I'll mostly work on item concept/design, and will maybe think about the actual modelling later on.

I'll upload my first sketches by tomorrow (opening this thread gives me motivation as a lazy person. Hopefully it'll work and soon there will be load of stuff to see here :poly121: ).

Thanks for reading, see you soon ! :)

Replies

• Lalzy
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Here we go !

The first hero I'm working with is Anti-Mage. The background story of this his unfortunate meeting with the undead army who destroyed the monastery in which he was just accepted as an acolyte, going there with as a pilgrim seeking wisdom. I wanted to dig into that pilgrim moment of antimage's life, and in his state right after he leaves to destroyed monastery. I began my research with the obvious : budhists monks and their outfits.

yPHXezV.jpg

I found the draped clothes of the monks pretty interesting to get a new feel on the hero, and started my sketches using this base.

NE6S5Qq.png

I will post more sketches and advancement by tomorrow !

If anyone got pieces of advice for an inexperienced graphic tablet user, I'd be pleased to have a piece of it ! I'm more used to drawing on paper, so the whole tablet thing is a bit hard for me ^^'

And feel free to say what you think of the idea :D
  • Lalzy