Home Unity

Two Textures on One Mesh?

interpolator
Offline / Send Message
Axi5 interpolator
So I'm a complete newbie to Unity and most other things 3D, my current project involves a jet modelled in 3DS max which is long and takes up a lot of my UV room so even a 4k texture looks a little low resolution up close.

What I'm about to ask is all hypothetical so if you have any other priorities feel free to leave this thread alone. (If all goes well the camera wont need to be so close to the model so currently it's fine as it is but I'd like to have it as a re-usable asset).

If I was to follow this tutorial:
http://www.neilblevins.com/cg_education/multiple_uv_tiles/multiple_uvs_tiles.htm
And split my mesh in half and space it over two quadrants I'd be able to get the resolution I need to make this model look really detailed up close.

The problem I'm facing after doing some research is whether or not Unity contains a composite material or shader where I could use two textures on one mesh with their respective uv co-ordinates. I'm aware there's a blend style material for terrain using vertex paint, would it be possible to have this style material on my model then just paint over one half to display the other texture? I'm sure there would be an easier way though.

I've not done too much beyond basic materials in Unity and I've heard there are layers so perhaps this is what I'm looking for?

Sorry to degrade the forums with such a newbie question I guess and even if I don't end up re-uving and re-texturing I hope an answer can help someone here.

Replies

• ZacD
    Options
    Online / Send Message
    ZacD ngon master
    What you want is 2 materials on one mesh. You'll want to have 2 materials that each point to a seperate texture.
  • Axi5
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Axi5 interpolator
    ZacD wrote: »
    What you want is 2 materials on one mesh. You'll want to have 2 materials that each point to a seperate texture.