Home Technical Talk

What do YOU use for animation?

polycounter lvl 7
Offline / Send Message
CrashMagnum polycounter lvl 7
I'm not trying to make a Maya vs Max vs Blender thread for the millionth time, I swear.

I'm working on a UDK based project and was wondering if you have suggestions/ experience on which program you find plays well with UDK the most. This is my first time doing character animation for games and decided to try out the CAT system in Max. I seem to be running into all sorts of issues I haven't encountered with non-game animation that I've done in Maya. It was a stupid decisions to go in blind to a new system I'm unfamiliar with and expect it to work the first time but I'm starting to feel that it's shortcomings outweigh the initial time saved.

Have you guys had good/ bad experience with CAT?
Should I stick to CAT or go the 'regular' route of rigging/ animating?
Any tips/ tricks you guys suggest I keep in mind when working with animations for games in general?

I've watched a ton of tuts at this point and feel stuck at what I should do at this point.
I should note that I've worked with shader, particles, and static meshes so far in UDK with little to no issues so I'm aware of the import process to a degree.

Sorry if this is a really stupid sounding question, I just want to see what your guys experience is. Thanks ahead of time!

Replies

• AlexCatMasterSupreme
    Offline / Send Message
    AlexCatMasterSupreme interpolator
    I use ur mum hurr durr. Just kidding. I personally use Maya but mostly for motion graphics. From what I have heard Maya is the standard for animating. In my opinion (for what I do) it's as good as max to some degree.
    They both have their advantages and disadvantages.
  • Mark Dygert