Dota 2 - Technical Thread

Replies

• belkun
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    belkun polycounter lvl 7
    e-freak wrote: »
    Hey,

I'm trying to find the source files for the heroes and so far all info I could find was the "you have to rip them". Is there a chance that someone already uploaded all the files for all the heroes or even if they might be on some hidden Valve page?

Sorry if this has been asked before, trying to catch up with the workshop right now!

edit: found this http://www.dota2.com/workshop/requirements but seems to be missing bane (which i wanted to model for) :(

If you can't find a hero on the requirements page, it means it isn't ready for cosmetics yet.
  • Coyo.Te
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Coyo.Te polycounter lvl 4
    I've been playing around with handplane a bit and strangely though I cant seem to get it to work with my NaturesProphet items normalmap. It turns out all blackish in the preview. But through that i started playing around with the fbx format.

I am usually using Blender and export into smd files. Now I wanna know, what do you pros use for format and why do you use fbx/smd and not the other? are there any reasons why you should try to use one format and not the other?

Smds are like 97kb in size, while the same model has 144kb in size with fbx format, whats the aditional information? and how is it useful and why doesnt smd use it?

Maybe some more expereienced users can shed some light onto those issues.
  • Vextrakt
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Vextrakt polycounter lvl 6
    Why is this thread not stickied? o.O
  • Konras
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Konras polycounter lvl 12
    Probably because there is hell of a mess on this subforum :p
    Most ppl anyway don't care and ask technical related stuff in main workshop thread....
  • putka
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    putka polycounter lvl 6