Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Entire HS/EV Portfolio, Right here, From scratch.

Replies

• RailbladerX
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    RailbladerX polycounter lvl 8
    lol, that bad huh?
  • Daves
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Daves polycounter lvl 9
    Hey, with too brown i mean, that there is not much color variation in the whole asset. Im no color expert myself, so get a few more comments on that :)
    Dont calibrate your monitor, thats really hard without calibration hardware. If you really think your monitor isnt good enough buy an ips monitor with pre-calibration.
  • RailbladerX
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Nah all good man. I have gotten lots of "less brown" comments. So I'm going to fix it. I'll lessen the brown on the center building, and hopefully with the green oxydation i will be putting on the metal it will help give me a good color variation.

Thanks a lot guys and for the tip about not opening up pandora's box.
  • Wingednosering
    This is mind blowing and I've saved it as inspiration :). I can't believe you're a student!

Keep doing what you're doing.
  • Iciban
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Iciban polycounter lvl 10
    I think it looks fine. Maybe when he said it looks brown. He means, the overall colour has the same hue?
  • DWalker
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Weathering - I'm thinking mostly water stains - and environmental debris - for lack of a better term; things such as muscles clinging to the lower levels, slimy algae near the water outlets - can also add some color. I'm assuming, however, that such touches are still in the future.

Still more sources for color would be gems - the eyes of the statues would be a good place. The braziers, if lit, would provide their own red-yellow coloring, and water can, of course, come in a variety of colors, from blue-green to blue to brown, with faster moving patches being white or brownish-white, depending on the water's clarity.