Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

UDK cavern environment WIP

oldemo
polycounter lvl 6
Offline / Send Message
oldemo polycounter lvl 6
Hello Polycounters ! :)

This is my first thread on this forum so I'd like to present myself first. My name is Olivier and I'm studying in computer graphics for about 4 years. I started in belgium and I moved to Quebec 2 years ago. Now I study at the University Laval and I graduate in May.

I'd like to present you the UDK project I am working on in order to have feedback and suggestion. This is a environment in UDK I started 8 month ago. It's a WIP and what I show you now is the current progress.

I hope you'll like it !

olivierCarignanUDKSceneWIP1.jpg
olivierCarignanUDKSceneWIP2.jpg
olivierCarignanUDKSceneWIP3.jpg
olivierCarignanUDKSceneWIP4.jpg
olivierCarignanUDKSceneWIP5.jpg
olivierCarignanUDKSceneWIP6.jpg
olivierCarignanUDKSceneWIP7.jpg
olivierCarignanUDKSceneWIP8.jpg

Replies

• vemadesign
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    vemadesign polycounter lvl 12
    Maybe adding some darker areas in your lighting could give you more contrast, right now it looks a little washed out. Other than that looks cool. :)
  • wester
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    wester polycounter lvl 13
    Not bad at all. One of the biggest issues is the lighting. I think you might have a skylight or something in your scene because there are no dark spots. I get that you want to show off the assets but it's important to have good lighting. The lighting will also help break up your scene and give some depth to it as it seems very noisy, with nothing being designated as backgroung/foreground...etc. Use little pockets of light to callout the sillouette on the pillars and the doors.

For the tunnels, the texture on the walls is very plane and visually uninteresting. I would suggest sculpting a tileable rock texture and using it there instead of that soft rock look.

Hope this paintover helps.

paintover_01_zps9441e034.jpg
  • oldemo
    Options