Home Contests & Challenges Archives

ESCAPE – Monkey Trapped in a Hypercube – Ruskeydoo & Seifert

Replies

• Ruskeydoo
    No idea what this second post might be used for but I'd like to keep it handy.
  • Ruskeydoo
    Myself and my brother have been talking about this for a bit and Escape seems like a good excuse to get it done. We're going to make a monkey trapped in a hypercube. This image will make more sense as we go along:
    Stereographic_polytope_16cell.png
  • 1Fort 2Fort
    I'd love to see where this goes!
    (ps hi kritzkast)
  • Seifert
    Hi everyone, I'm Ruskeydoo's brother. I'm a mathematician and mathematical artist. I mostly do 3d printed stuff. I use Rhinoceros for my 3d design, with a large amount of procedural generation using python scripts. Most of my work can be see in my Shapeways shop.

Ok, what are we doing to this poor monkey? Well first, here is our extremely low poly test monkey:

test_monkey_in_cube_small.jpg

Yes he has a wonky leg, we will fix that later. He is inside of a cube, and has one limb (including head and tail) at each of the 6 faces of the cube.

We promised a hypercube though, not a cube... but first, what is a hypercube?

A hypercube, or tesseract, is the 4-dimensional version of the ordinary 3-dimensional cube. Just as you can make a cube by taking two copies of a square and drawing lines between the corresponding corners, you can make a hypercube by taking two copies of a cube and drawing lines between those corresponding corners. The trick though is to make all the lines that meet at a corner be at 90 degrees to each other. This isn't possible in 3d for a hypercube, so you need 4d.