Home General Discussion

carreer advice

polycount sponsor
Offline / Send Message
Joost polycount sponsor
Hi! I need some advice.

I'm mostly self taught and I don't have any degree.
I'd like to get a job soon and I've already applied at a few places but no luck yet.

The problem is I don't think i'm good enough yet to apply for a regular position and I can't do an internship because most countries/companies require you to be part of a university (as far as I'm aware).
I also live in Belgium so i'll have to relocate and a lot of companies are reluctant to hire foreigners because of this.

Right now I'm trying to spend 8 hours a day including weekends on improving my portfolio and skill set. Though it's hard to keep motivating myself, And it's a pretty lonely existence.

I could go to a game design school but I've had bad experiences with that in the past.

I guess I'll keep working for a few more months, though when do I know when I should start applying for a job?

here's my portfolio: http://komaokc.carbonmade.com/

Any input would really be appreciated!

Replies

• cholden
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    cholden polycounter lvl 18
    You're better than your site presents itself. Three thumbnails yet each have several different pieces under them. You need more breakdowns too. Wireframes, texture sheets, etc. And you can't be doing things like having a 2048 texture on the wood cart when it looks like a simple tiling wood could do the same job at 512.

All your pieces are the same thing. Wood and/or metal tile, same theme. So you can really only apply to placing making a game like skyrim. The mod house is the best piece. More full, complete pieces like this would help.

It's plausable you could apply somewhere and they'd make you an offer because timing can be on your side. Till then, take UDK, Unity, CryEngine, whatevs, some realtime game engine. Every three months have a new full env scene complete giving four solid pieces a year till you get the jobs.