Home General Discussion

How did you learn?

Hello Polycount, I am an ambitious 14 year old, and I was wondering where all of you guys started with your 3D/2D art skills.
I am a terrible artist, and I am looking for a place to start, that is where I would like you guys to tell me how you got good at what you do.
So me being 14, are there any high school classes you guys took? What you did in college?
Thanks

By the way, I apologize if there are any spelling or structure problems with this thread, I'm on an iPad and I'm not used to it.

Replies

• ebagg
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    ebagg polycounter lvl 17
    At age 14 you have a ton of free time to study and learn the fundamentals. There's enough free resources you can see here, on youtube, google search, deviantart, etc, check out books at the library. Go nuts on learning the basics like perspective, color theory, anatomy, 3d programs, Photoshop, etc. Don't be discouraged by your art not turning out the way you want and learn to analyze your mistakes to make better art with each new piece. Post your work for others to check out here and other forums to get as much advice as you can and never be shy about it.

Art colleges can certainly be helpful, but with 4ish years before that and some self discipline you can be an awesome artist by the time you graduate high school!
  • ivanzu
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    ivanzu polycounter lvl 10
    Take art classes,practice a lot and don't quit on hard stuff.
  • gsokol
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    I was lucky enough to have some classes in high school that I could take. I had to sit through a few years of autocad classes before I could take the 3dsMax class though.

Truth be told...high school classes and college really just teach the tools and basic principals...while they are helpful...its all about your drive and how much you practice.