Home General Discussion

Portfolios..

Hey all,

I am relatively new to modeling and I just had a few questions pertaining to online portfolios. I apologize if this has been asked before.

First off, I notice a ton of you guys have portfolios filled with exquisite work..much better work than I could ever hope to make. How long does it take to create a portfolio?
Are there cheap or free options to host a portfolio website?
Have you gone to school for 3d modeling or just self taught?
In my sketchbook, do you think any of my models are good enough for a portfolio?

Sorry these are such broad questions, I just wanted to get some helpful input.

Thank you. Cheers! :)

Replies

• ZacD
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    ZacD ngon master
    - It takes many months to put together a solid portfolio if you are just starting out.

- You can get a website domain name and hosting for $30 a year, but there's free options such as blogspot, or pretty much any blog website.

- It's probably about 50:50 self taught vs formal education, but a lot of people will say schooling didn't get them a job.

- You should just link your sketchbook, of course we can find it, but make it easy for people.
  • ayoub44
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    ayoub44 polycounter lvl 10
    you have nice stuff on you sketchbook ; great modeling skills .. but i think you should focus on some texturing and presentation skills to get your works ready for a portfolio .

good luck :)
  • Eric Chadwick
  • mikhga
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    mikhga polycounter lvl 8