Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

My First Model Ever - Help needed!

Like the title says, this is the first thing I have ever modeled/textured, and I am in dire need of some help! I was only able to complete this model due to a tutorial I followed, and as a result I find it mind boggling to even attempt to model something on my own, even with a reference. So I ask you guys: any references that you could recommend to help me get better at modeling? Should I buy Zbrush and use that as opposed to Blender? And what kind of tips can you give to a complete novice?

Any help is appreciated, and I'm really hoping to get some good feedback! Thanks again for your time, and of course here's my (very) primitive first model: a good ol' T-Rex. P.S. Sorry if this is the wrong forum for this kind of stuff :( I was told to post here for something like this, so here we are wee

GggCEAvh.png

Replies

• Satotiga
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Satotiga polycounter lvl 11
    That's pretty damn cool for your first model, good job.

Blender and ZBrush are completely different programs used for completely different things. Unless I am mistaken Blender is your general modelling package like 3DS Max, Maya, etc. - ZBrush is a sculpting package. The general workflow would be to create your model in Blender and then take it into ZBrush where you would sculpt in your details before baking a normal map to project this detail on your model. This will go way over your head if you are a novice but what I'm saying is you don't need ZBrush at this stage, in my opinion.