Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Kevin Bryant - Maxscript thread

polycounter lvl 5
Offline / Send Message
Narlyteeth polycounter lvl 5
Hello, I made this thread to learn a few things about max script. I'm still very new to this and I don't expect to be pro at this anytime, but I just want to make scripts that just makes things easier for me. that includes Clean, and easy UI for the most part.

Here is what my UI looks like.
most of the toolbars are things like primitives, and the most common actions I use from the graphite toolbar(the Ribbon is redundant UI and hogs screenspace, but there are some functions that I use from it). then I also have buttons that toggle the timeslider, trackbar, and status bar independently. My command Panel is on my second monitor.
maxui201300.jpg

but the thing that actually required scripting are the transform spinners on the bottom. I just started getting in to maxscripting a couple days ago, and these spinners are what I have working so far to some extent.

here is my code for the spinners.
rollout Tformspinners "TformSpinners" width:640
(
label Movelabel "Move" pos:[0,0] width:32

spinner    MoveX "X" range: [-1000000,1000000,0] pos:[40,0] width:70
spinner    MoveY "Y" range: [-1000000,1000000,0] pos:[120,0] width:70
spinner    MoveZ "Z" range: [-1000000,1000000,0] pos:[200,0] width:70

label Rotlabel "Rotate" pos:[285,0] width:32

spinner    RotX "X" range: [-1000000,1000000,0] pos:[330,0] width:70
spinner    RotY "Y" range: [-1000000,1000000,0] pos:[410,0] width:70
spinner    RotZ "Z" range: [-1000000,1000000,0] pos:[490,0] width:70    
)
createdialog Tformspinners
cui.RegisterDialogBar Tformspinners
cui.DockDialogBar Tformspinners #cui_dock_bottom 

fn Refresh_controllers =
(
meshes = $

if meshes != undefined and meshes != $selection do 
(
Tformspinners.MoveX.controller = ($.pos.controller.x_position.controller)
Tformspinners.MoveY.controller = ($.pos.controller.y_position.controller)