Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[WIP] - Gate: Looking for some critique

Hey all,

I'm new to this whole 3d forum and this is my first post on one ever!

Just looking for get some advise/critique on this here gate I'm modeling out.

I'm pretty amateur as I'm sure you'll find out :p

Replies

• PacoCasares
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    PacoCasares polycounter lvl 11
    This looks great, you need to put more work into it to get critic, that is all I can think :) Next, try to do one side, and then mirror to avoid doing work.

You are going to sculpt this after on zbrush/mudbox or go straight into diffusion?

You also have to add small details like the windows on the roof top, or the wood planks holding the bigger ones. I love the concept used for this!
  • PacoCasares
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    PacoCasares polycounter lvl 11
    also, to avoid geometry overlapping, try to merge them manually, that can be a process of its own. And if this is used for game assets try to used well spaced quads
  • Jpeppa
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Yes, I realize there isn't too much to critique just yet lol but thank you for your post.

I don't plan on bringing it into mudbox. I actually have only played around with it for a little bit.

Working on the windows as we speak and same with the front wooden posts. I would like to sculpt it at some point but I still need to work on my topology and keeping it clean.

If anything it would be brought into Unity.

Normally I wouldn't overlap geometry like that, but they are separate pieces. In my mind it's as if I'm setting up a prefab in Unity. As I mentioned I am pretty amateur. :p

Thank you for the comments!
  • Jpeppa
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Selfish bump - and a question!

So I feel like this should be simple but I just can't seem to wrap my head around this one.