Home General Discussion

Can someone give a student(me) portfolio advice?

Hi,

My name is Adrianna. I'm from Montreal, Quebec and I'm a Graphic Design student. I graduate around the first week of November.

In order for me to graduate I have to be accepted into a three week internship at any local company or studio. I'm hoping to snap up an internship at any local video game company, there are a lot of them here in Montreal.

I was hoping to become a User Interface designer. I'm not quite sure what to put in my portfolio. I have a few class projects and some other work that I've done outside of school. I've also made a few box art pieces, promo art, etc... and I'm currently designing a website. What else should I include? Should I also include some 3d props in my portfolio?

I've bought a 12 by 18 portfolio and carrying case. Would I be better off buying a tablet and using the tablet as my portfolio?

Any and all advices are welcome. I'm freaking out in trying to figure out what what pieces to include. I'm probably just stressing out for nothing, considering I'm far away from graduation. I just want to make it in the industry.

Thank you

Replies

• KateC
    Offline / Send Message
    KateC polycounter lvl 7
    Hey/bonjour Adrianna!

The following's coming from an environment modeler, not a UI artist, but I think the basic information could be applied to both.

First off, if you're stressing out, go get a cup of coffee/tea/hot chocolate and take a walk. Always helps me refocus on the important things. November's a ways away, too, so you've heaps of time.

With regards to portfolios, the number of art directors I've met that would likely go through physical portfolios is probably pretty slim. They're just too busy, and focusing your attention on creating an easy to navigate, quickly viewable online portfolio would likely be your best bet. I Hate Your Portfolio has some good tips if you haven't yet run across it.