Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Rottilo sculpt - Feedback request and ZBrush issues

polycounter lvl 6
Offline / Send Message
LordSebbington polycounter lvl 6
Hi all, I'm new to Polycount and 3D in general, the rest of my stuff is in my Sketchbook. I'm currently seeking feedback on a new sculpt.

My newest sculpt is a WIP Rottilo, taken from a piece I found on Deviant art.

I'm firstly looking for feedback about the sculpt itself; I've been getting into 3D since Spetember '12 and I'm definitely getting quicker - this took about an evening to get to this stage. The main body's proportions seem off - I've tried to make the body less rotund than the concept and I think I prefer it to the original but it does make it look like a young version of this creature. Also the lower legs have got a bit messy anatomically and generally. Not in the concept but I've also given it a bum hole and androgynous genitals (probably a penis).

This is a bit of a cheat sculpt, it's not a real creature and you can take some liberties with the anatomy (I chickened out of doing a human just yet, I wanted to thrash out a few things on this first). However, I do want it to look plausible as a functioning animal (needs a mouth/feeder thing).

ALSO, I've also come across a few issues in ZBrush that might be to do with masking: There are certain points on the model where I can't polypaint or affect the material and it can be difficult to model there. I might have Z intensity cranked up but the brushes are barely making an impact on certain areas. It's happened before but I'm shooting blind on this one.

You can see what I mean on the busts in the picture; the green parts are fine but the brown bits refused to be altered in any way. There are only 2 sub-tools, the eyes and everything else.

Bbji7Rh.jpg

Original Concept

641f4bf92dc9f7957030eb3255f19a55.jpg

Feedback and advice is greatly appreciated.

Replies

• Aga22
    Offline / Send Message
    Aga22 polycounter lvl 11