Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Modular Rock Feedback

cozzbp
polycounter lvl 9
Offline / Send Message
cozzbp polycounter lvl 9
Hey, just made some rock sculpts and baked down some textures today, wanted to get some feedback on them. I feel like they are missing something.....not sure what.
flM3U7s.jpg

Any criticisms are welcome and very appreciated.

EDIT:
References:
b5FBDAp.jpg
dgnGU8N.jpg

Replies

• enoki
    Offline / Send Message
    enoki polycounter lvl 4
    It's very monochromatic. Adding some moss or just little bits of color should help.
  • cozzbp
    Offline / Send Message
    cozzbp polycounter lvl 9
    Added some color variation to the texture:
    dh3w5xE.jpg
  • Wingednosering
    I'm not an expert by any means, but it seems to me they're just too generic. Modular pieces can still have detail.

Technically, I see a couple spots where the UVs are off and causing unfortunate stretching.

Artistically, you're lacking a unified theme between all the rocks (The Witcher 2 reference you're showing is missing it too). There's no pattern to the striation of the rocks. With larger rocks (especially cliffs), you can often see horizontal strips of colour (different eras produce different types of sediment). The same goes for your large creases. If you want these pieces to fit together, they need to have similar directionality (all horizontal or vertical, keep diagonals subtle).

I don't see any specularity coming off them. Is there a spec map yet? If there is, amp it up and get a little creative with the colouring on it. Most rocks have a ton of colours reflecting off of them.

I don't know if you've done AO or not, but I would definitely advise it, since rocks have such massive areas that see little to no light, regardless of how they're flipped. Depending on how you intend to use these, grounding your ambient occlusion might help them fit better into the scene.