Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

First UDK project

Hey everybody, my name is Kaelin and I am a student at the Art Institute of Tampa, Florida, i'm studying Game Art and Design and will graduate in about a year and a half. I've never really been on a forum before so i guess polycount would be breaking my cherry, but anywho i did a project in UDK for my first time last quarter and afriend of mine told me i should post it here to get some feedback and critiques. I wish I could have rendered a flythrough of my entire scene but still trying to figure that out. but here ya go, check it out, i created mostly everything in here, but did use some already given props from UDK to enhance my scene

Replies

• Kaelin Hinnant
    these are some props, i modeled everything in 3ds max and textured/sculpted in mudbox
  • praetus
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    praetus interpolator
    Your models have little in the way of form as they are flooded with poor micro details and soft doughy edges. It looks to me like you've fallen into the trap of "If I sculpt in details in Mudbox/ZBrush it will make my models look great." Don't take that personally. When I first used a sculpting program I though that exact thing and it only made my mediocre art look worse because I didn't know proper workflow.

I can look at some of your props and see where you were trying to go but it looks like you stumbled on the way there. If you're going to use a sculpting program you need to learn the proper workflow and tool implementation. Right now it looks like you used the standard brush for most all of your details. Start small. Learn how to make a mesh that will export well as a base to sculpt from. Learn what the different brushes and tools can use so you're not using one for everything. Keep at it.
  • Kaelin Hinnant