Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Blizzard Character Contest

Back again!
Heres my character design for the blizzard contest. He is meant to be a npc found in the WoW world. I imagine him as an old martial artist master who has returned to his secluded village in the swamplands. Feedback is greatly appreciated!
Thanks!

Replies

• tannerhanss
  • DashXero
    Offline / Send Message
    DashXero polycounter lvl 12
    This is gonna be tough to read... It's tough to type.

Kind of an interesting concept... But...

He doesn't seem very Blizzard-ish. I'm no expert on Blizzard, heck, I don't even like their games, but they have a certain distinctive aesthetic. For starters, there's a lot of high-frequency detail there that I don't remember seeing in much Blizzard stuff. I think that high-frequency detail is a part of what's throwing off the visual hierarchy of your character.

For a lizard-man, he's awfully monochromatic. If memory serves, lizards and amphibians usually have some color variation. The back and belly are usually different from each other.
  • Lord Waffles
    Offline / Send Message
    Lord Waffles polycounter lvl 10
    I'm by no means a master, but as DashXero said...blizzard graphics focus a lot more on hand painted details. You are off to a good start, but it feels a little too noisy.

Here is an Orc from WoW
    orc_warrior.jpg

If you look there isn't a whole lot of detail, it's actually pretty bland. For example the beads around his neck have noise on it where it would probably look closer to blizzards artwork if you removed the noise and kept it one solid color and a small amount of lighting detail. I would say a blizzard frogman probably wouldn't have the small scales and skin detail. They might have a little, but not all over the body.

Overall great start!
  • tannerhanss