Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Tron Inspired Environment WIP

I've been lurking around polycount for a some time now and while I am still a student I figure it'd be a good idea to post some of my work to get feedback and critiques to up my game before graduation.

One of my current WIP's is a game environment based on Disney's TRON franchise.
So here we go:

Flynn's Arcade:

Flynn's%20Arcade%20Progress%20render.png

The current breakdown:

Grid scale: 256 units (for UDK)
Total number of pieces making up the arcade: 45
Number of pieces that have duplicates: 20
Arcade Polycount: 3,335
Tri Count: 6, 477
Time Taken: 8 hours
Program used: 3ds Max 2013

Props I've been working on for the level:

Flynn's Lightcycle base model:

Flynn's%20Lightcycle%20render.png

The Breakdown:

Polycount: 712
Tri count: 1,428
Time Taken: 2 hours

Recognizer base model:

Recginizer%20Progress%20Shot.png

The Breakdown:

Polycount: 1,352
Tri Count: 2,700
Time Taken: 5 hours

Please note that none of these models have any textures on them. Critiques are much appriecated.

Replies

• PixelSuit
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Hey Shadowliger, that's a good start, do you have any reference images you are working from? Could you post them and maybe some wire frame shots please? It will be a lot easier to critique if we can compare to the concept and check out your wire frames.

One thing that immediately stands out are the front wheel arch and the back wheel on the bike, I think you can afford to throw a few more polygons towards those. I would say the bike is really the hero piece of the scene since the vehicles are one thing Tron is known for, it will probably be one of the first things to draw a viewers eye. I would expect more polygons in the bike than in the recognizer asset for example due to its sleek shape and look.

Looking forward to seeing this progress, will you use any glow in the scene? I'm a sucker for Tron style glow!
  • Acid_Wire
    Options