Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Water Well - 3 Styles Rendering

Hi !

New quick work, I want to make 3 of them, each with a different style:

- An old school cartoon one (Warcraft, Diablo, ...)
- A next-gen cartoon one (Darksiders, ...)
- A Realistic one (Uncharted, ...)

Here's the first water well, the old-school cartoon :)

ulrick_3D_well_cartoon_01.jpg

The quick concept and the Diffuse Map:

ulrick_well_cartoon_wip_01.jpg

ulrick_well_cartoon_wip_02.jpg

Replies

• Tomm
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Hey, nice idea and great work.

There's something about the wood texture I don't quite like, maybe some more saturated colors and exaggerated wavy/wood patterns would make it look better.

And wouldn't it be more effective to use as many tiling textures as possible? like for the roof tiles and the base of the well(bricks) and maybe even wood? I'm no pro, just curious.

Also did you bake an AO before starting to texture?
  • PhoenixWolf
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    PhoenixWolf polycounter lvl 9
    this is a solid piece and i like your target you have set to make the same asset in 3 different styles that is a strong skill to shown that you can execute a wide variety of art styles.
  • chrisradsby
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    chrisradsby polycounter lvl 14
    This looks cool, I like the textures a lot can't wait to see the different versions later on :)
  • typechristopher
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    typechristopher polycounter lvl 10
    looks really cool, just one thing, can the bucket get into the well as it seems kinda tight.
  • linkov
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    linkov polycounter lvl 10
    that stone platform your well is sitting on, is brighter than the well itself. generally, you'd want that to be other way around. I hope you don't mind me overpainting. It's quick and dirty, but you get the idea.

well.jpg