Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

ZBrush First Practice Sculpt - Left 4 Dead Cover Hand WIP

polycounter lvl 8
Offline / Send Message
StormHertz polycounter lvl 8
So I just recently picked up Zbrush after doing research on it, and I have watched about 6 or 7 beginner tutorials on Zbrush through Digital Tutor. I figured I would use the small things I've learned and apply them, as well as mess around and teach myself through tinkering with the program. I'm a self-taught artist, and I needed something basic to work on, and the Left 4 Dead cover art instantly caught my mind:

PzTSb.jpg

So I went into Zbrush, and decided that I could do this with the fancy ZSphere feature. I made a skin, and went from there to get a basic shape. I'm trying to adhere mostly to the reference, but I plan on throwing in some of my own touches here an there. Mainly on the missing thumb and the skin texture. Here's my progress so far, and I'll update whenever I can (Updates will be slow, got alot of other stuff going on).

BzhdR.jpg
nKQKf.jpg

Tips, Tricks, Advice, Criticism, etc. welcome!

Replies

• pjtorres
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    pjtorres polycounter lvl 9
    i think this is a good idea to practise quick modeling.... needs to model in low subdivision to get the basic shapes of a hand... sculpture references are good to see the simple forms you can start to model ..... and let to final step the details like the nibble :)

for example i like too much this sculptor: http://philippefaraut.com/
  • mr_ace
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    mr_ace polycounter lvl 9
    i think a hand sculpture is quite a hard starting point for learning to sculpt. it's quite a difficult subject matter, and is sometimes quite awkward to view and manipulate in zbrush. A torso or basic anatomy sculpt might be better.

Some tips:

Always sculpt in perspective mode (press the p button, I can't tell if your sculpt is or isn't...)