Home Unreal Engine

UDK Lighting: Theory and Practice question

high dynamic range
Offline / Send Message
Brian "Panda" Choi high dynamic range
Hi my name is Brian Choi, and I'm the student Art Director of "Core Overload," an Advanced Final Games project for the Fall 2012 - Spring 2013 year at the University of Southern California.

Core Overload is an 8v8 online multiplayer spaceship shootem-up revolving around customized ships with component based destruction.

I had questions about where I could find online, free resources regarding proper level lighting,both theory and practice. So as a decent 2D artist, I understand composition concepts, etc, but I'm not sure how to apply it to 3D environment art at a practical level.

Or if anyone can tell me right now and critiques, feedback, or tips of the following screenshot of our last build of the game, I could DEFINITELY use that as well.

I do have critique from my Art Mentor on the project. It is as follows:

"I do have a few observations:

I like the background gas and nebulae. Seems like it could be even brighter and more pronounced in some areas. Feels like you're being a bit timid about using it. What variety of background scenes throughout the game have you planned?

Could the giant icons(?) like Earth, Mars, Capture be a little more subtle? more energy-like? How do they appear/disappear? Do they animate, spin, flicker on?

Do you need the green grid? What's it's purpose? Visually, it really dominates the scene and makes the scene busier than it needs to be. Can you get rid of it?