Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

WIP stylized Halloween town house

polycounter lvl 6
Offline / Send Message
kneowave polycounter lvl 6
Hey guys, this is my first WIP thread here on polycount =D My name is Kat and I'm an aspiring 3D environment artist that just graduated from art school.

I want to create a small scene with a stylized, hand-painted look to it. This is my first time attempting this style, so any critique and help is much appreciated!

Here's a quick concept that I created of what I'm going for:

Jv6e4.jpg

and here are a couple textures that I started:

Wood:

e4JNz.jpg

Brick:

0aIq7.jpg

Replies

• Bonkahe
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Bonkahe polycounter lvl 12
    Looking good man, looking forrward to this.
  • kneowave
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Thanks Bonkahe and amile duan =)

I'm working on the low poly environment now, still needs some optimization with the ground/hill - but here it is so far:

tolox.jpg
  • Shadownami92
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Shadownami92 polycounter lvl 7
    Look good man!

I'm absolutely loving that wood plank texture. Can't wait to see the textures on your environment.
  • kneowave
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Thanks Shadownami :)

Trying to decide where I want to go with the smaller assets and how detailed I want to go with them.

Did a few sketches of a lantern with different styles, I'm thinking of going with A or D. What do you guys think? :O

m0wXg.jpg
  • Pangahas
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Pangahas polycounter lvl 10
    Wood texture looks good though a drop of other color here and there should make it look better.As for the bricks,the highlights and the worn out edges of the brick looks a bit intense and to me it looks like it is wrapped in plastic or something.Toning them down should do the trick.
    I also like how you exaggerated the edges adding to the haloween theme you have going.