Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

MoonCactus' current works, crit welcomed :)

NOTE: This exact same post is in the digital sketchbook area- I'm sure you understand I didn't really want to re-type everything, also felt
it would be helpful to scatter myself around a bit (so to speak) :)

Hi everyone.... I figured it was about time I made an account on here. I'm studying Games Art right now and I'm in my final year at university, my goal is to become an environment/lighting artist. I do post on my uni's forum but I'm finding feedback hard to come by these days, probably because it's crunch-time for assignments and lots of people are posting. My classmates say this is the best place for help and advice and I've been really impressed with the standard of work on here. Well...here's stuff I'm currently working on, I really would love some guidance because I want to make a kick-ass showreel before the end of this year, and start working :) you guys know what you're talking about so please don't hold back on the criticism, my work needs much of it. Thanks :)

This is an environment I'm working on for my final year film. It's an abandoned underground vault built in the early 1900's. Definitely needs some love. Cobwebs, more destruction etc. Rendered in Maya right now, UDK soon.
HSkab.jpg

This is going to be a lighting piece eventually. As you can see, it sucks at present. I want to do two lighting setups, a night time one with a fire going and moonlight and a late afternoon one with little firefly things floating around. If anyone can link me to any good UDK lighting tutorials, please please do. It's something I really want to get good at :)
j27T3.jpg

My 1900's carriage. Me and my boyfriend stumbled on this awesome old battered carriage in Berlin, so I took lots of pictures and vowed to model it. This is the fruit of my labour. I very quickly dropped it in UDK to preview my textures, as you can see it really needs to go in a nice environment.
97ULE.jpg
AqmNe.jpg
cj8NM.jpg