Home General Discussion

Degree in Architecture to video game environment design

Hi,

With that being said, I am strongly hoping that I can land a job as an environment artist, with an architecture degree. I did some research and found that it is possible, so all is not lost -- is this realistically true?

I have no MAYA or 3ds MAX experience, but I do know Rhino 3D, Photoshop, and illustrator. I have downloaded MAYA and trying to transition into it.

So getting to my reason for writing this, I was hoping you could inform me on what to practice. Do I develop scenes just for renderings/photos or entire maps? Where do I get textures to place on certain things (buildings,trees,grass,etc), do I make them? Anyone know of the best MAYA youtube tutorial besides world of level design.

My portfolio would be pretty much architectural plans,sections, 3d images, model photos, and renders, however the portfolio and drawings are strongly design/theory based not your normal technical drawings which you may be thinking. There would be no environment artist things in it as of right now. I know some people go to actual video game design schools and their portfolios are filled with nice scenes, I am probably far behind.

Thanks,

Replies

• VelvetElvis
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    VelvetElvis polycounter lvl 12
    Environments for architecture and games share many common workflow operations but they are also vastly different. It's more than just knowing Max/Maya or having photo real renders on your portfolio. Do you know how to optimize your objects? Do you know how to bake high to low poly? Do you know how to layout a proper UV set? Take a look at the Borderlands 2 art dump, http://www.polycount.com/forum/showthread.php?t=109497 , those artists do everything (models, bakes, textures) for their pieces.