Home General Discussion

Portfolio Discussion.

Hey,

So I am sure this a premature to be discussing but really anytime is a good time to be discussing portfolios. A bit about myself, I am a student, I am always looking for work, and I am most likely going to be submitting a portfolio for review to LCAD as well as bringing one with me up to GDC. In general, I have a few questions. When going to events such as GDC is it important to have a hard copy portfolio or is an online portfolio just fine? How many pieces is the golden number that companies will approve of? Would a person reviewing a portfolio want to see more texturing projects vs. just AO passes of modeling projects? If I could get some input from industry Pro's I greatly appreciate it.

Thank you for your time.

Replies

• JacqueChoi
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    JacqueChoi polycounter
  • AimBiZ
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    AimBiZ polycounter lvl 14
    Also, put up the kind of work you actually want do and not just show everything you can do just because.
    And don't market yourself as a student, market yourself as a professional.

And what an employer wants to see depends on the employer and what role you're applying for. Show stuff that's relevant for the company you're interested in.
  • UrbanMaws
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Thank you all very much for your input I do appreciate it.

I came up to a new idea for this topic. I heard from some people that you want to target specific texturing styles of certain games to attract those companies while as I heard from others not to target the style because they may take it offensively like you are trying to do their style better?
  • Zepic
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Zepic polycounter lvl 11
    UrbanMaws wrote: »
    I heard from others not to target the style because they may take it offensively like you are trying to do their style better?

I seriously doubt they would take offense.