Home Technical Talk

[Modo] Tool specific hotkeys?

I'm new to Modo and I'm working on setting up hotkeys. I had no problem with the basic stuff, it all went really smooth, but I can't seem to figure out how to create a tool specific hotkey.
What I was trying to do was to set up hotkeys to adjust the number of segments in the Loop slice tool and also change the mode between symmetry and free.
I've looked around in the list under "new assignment" in the Input editor but couldn't find any tool related options. But then again I don't relly know what to look for so I'm sure it's there somewhere. Any ideas?

Replies

• Farfarer
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    I'm not sure you can do that straight up to work per-tool.

What you can do is write a script that'll fire a command based on the currently active tool (I've got various modal tools set up this way - for example, W is bound to weld unless I'm in item mode, then it'll activate the move tool).
  • Bryan Cavett
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Bryan Cavett polycounter lvl 19
    Just set the "Edit Mode" to "Tools" and the "Tool" to "Loop Slice" then you can right click on any of the greyed out hotkeys and add a new command. You dont need to look for the greyed out "new assignement" like the other hotkeys you made.
  • o2_is_alright
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Oh well that was almost too easy:P Thanks alot Bryan!
  • Farfarer
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Just set the "Edit Mode" to "Tools" and the "Tool" to "Loop Slice" then you can right click on any of the greyed out hotkeys and add a new command. You dont need to look for the greyed out "new assignement" like the other hotkeys you made.
    Damn, I didn't know that one. Gonna have fun customizing everything now :D
  • WarrenM
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    RESURRECTION!