Home Artists Looking For Work

Just got offered a freelance job! NEED HELP NAMING MY PRICE!

polycounter lvl 6
Offline / Send Message
rorozilla polycounter lvl 6
hey guys! im kinda new in the 3D working world! I just got approached for a Freelance character modelling job, and was asked to name my price, what is a decent price for a low poly modelling and texturing, as well as concepting?

I wouldn't want to sell my self short or scare them away with a crazy price!

Hope this is the right place to ask this!

Thanks a bunch in advance!

Replies

• low odor
  • Selaznog
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Selaznog polycounter lvl 8
    Search function generally isn't too helpful when I was trying to see how much I should charge. People saying "charge however much you need to survive" is about the most useless advice ever.

Rorozilla if you're looking for numbers, I'm fresh out of school and charge 20-25$ (Canadian) an hour depending on the type of work. I wouldn't go lower than 20/hr. I live in BC and minimum wage is 10. I worked an office job for awhile and was payed 15/hr.

Once you have more experience and AAA titles in your portfolio you can start charging loads more. 50/75/100 an hour. You really have to create a name for yourself though and get well known throughout the 3D world. People will pay for quality!
  • rorozilla
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    heheh sorry Low Odor! i was kinda desperat and it made me kinda dump! hehehe Your help was very appreciated!

I have an other question though... how do you know if a offer is legit and is not some sort of scam?

I almost got caught up with that Heart Break person a couple of months ago, and quickly took my distances because i looked her up and saw she or he was just gonna be trouble.

If the person that contacted me didn't provide a web site, and a search of their name or compagnie dosent show anything, is there a possibility it could be a bad idea to do business with them?
  • Selaznog