Home Contests & Challenges Archives

[Dota 2] Windrunner - Golden Harvest

Hello all! I'm fairly new to Dota 2, playing from time to time with my very skilled friend. My favourite heroes are Sven, Lina, and Windrunner. For this contest I am going to give a shot at creating an item set for Windrunner, as I play her the most.

I really enjoy Miyazaki's films and want to make a costume reminiscent of Ashitaka's Eastern Archer garb from Princess Mononoke. I sketched a couple of images depicting Windrunner in this wheat-farmer traveler attire, and will be refining this concept throughout the month. Thanks for checking it out! Feedback is much appreciated!

Lastest Update:
windrunner model paint-over:
2012-10-15_00007_painted_v2.png

Replies

• shuanDang
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    initial rough sketch:
    I'm concerned at whether or not this brightly coloured cape would fit well on the character in game, as her default is largely green.

image6_painted.png
  • Spudnik
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Spudnik polycounter lvl 11
    Oh man, I'm loving the Miyazaki style, looking fantastic! I can't wait to see you translate it into 3D!

I think the design works very well with the hero as it is right now. The only thing that I'd have to criticize is that maybe you could make the bow a bit more interesting. Again, really cool concept, I'm definitely gonna be stalking this thread!
  • LuCh!
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    LuCh! polycounter lvl 5
    nice sketch!
    you really have to do the gras piece in her mouth in the final (if it's technically possible)
  • RossC
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    RossC polycounter lvl 9
    I think the cape will fit well, but I agree that the bow needs to standout a bit more. Remember that your design will be seen mostly from far away so try and "exaggerate" things a little bit.
  • shuanDang
    Options
    Offline / Send Message