Home Contests & Challenges Archives

[DOTA 2] Doom Bringer Runic Scythe item set

Hi,

I will admit at first that I just finished my first tutorial in Zbrush, got my self familiar with the control and that will be my main tool to build my item set on (maybe at 5 or 6 subdiv if I get it good). I still am in the course or finding suitable runes to put on the scythe and incorporate the lore of Doom Bringer to the set. In this version I look to make Doom more softer via robes and hoods but not too subtle as assassin, retaining his hellish presence by modifying the wings with scythe and runes and use oversized scythe to decaptitate enemies. I will put my rough sketch soon after but won't be able to put reference picture up at the moment. I would love to have people tell me their thoughts and a bit of work around because like I said I'm new to 3D modelling but I'm quick to learn however. Cheers and stay posted. :thumbup:

Replies

• echineon
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    WIP post 1:
    sketch of items and theme.
  • echineon
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    finished the rough mesh for the scythe still need to apply runes and colour.
    leftg.jpg
  • echineon
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    very rough sketch for the wings but I'll call it a day. Still have to fill up my dota 2 match quota for today. Cheers.
    wingsmj.jpg
  • Spudnik
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Spudnik polycounter lvl 11
    Be aware that you cannot (yet) change the animations for the hero. Make sure that your concept work with especially the attack animation. I would suggest taking a white super-low-poly version of your weapon and compiling it in game to see how it looks with all his animations before you proceed.
  • echineon
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Cheers spudnik. Seeing sparrow hawk animation model for windrunner makes me think it was possible. Will look that up tomorrow. Hopefully the animation works smoothly with the scythe.