Home Contests & Challenges Archives

[Dota2] – Meepo - Lucky Haul

Hello!

I find DOTA 2's lore to be quite inspirational. There's just so much going on in there, both on and under the surface.

I want to try to make a set that harkens back to Meepo's origin story. The idea is that he's found an unusually large Riftshadow crystal, and is trying to take it back to his camp to get it appraised. In the lore, the crystal shatters and, well, weird things happen.

I'm assuming that the minerals in Meepo's backpack are Riftshadow crystals, so I'll be trying to make a big one by using those as a reference. Here's the concept so far:

MeepoConcepts.png

I plan on modelling a back, shoulder, and head item. I'll add more if I finish before the deadline. I may come up with a better hood design later on, it feels a bit too close to Meepo's default one.

I'm still fairly new to 3D modelling, but this is a great learning opportunity and I'll definitely get something out of it, regardless of the quality of the finished product. That said, the prospect of texturing all this terrifies me :poly101:

Replies

• reverendK
    Offline / Send Message
    reverendK polycounter lvl 7
    if it aint a challenge then you aint learning!
    Welcome to Polycount - where we all suffer together.
  • Shakii
    Progress so far:

MeepoProgress1.png

I think the belt looks fine, but the rope seems a little flat. Might round it out a little once everything else is finished.

As things are going, I'm going to end up with plenty of triangles left over. I'm worried that it might be coming in too far under budget. In addition, I'm feeling uneasy about making the LoD0 model, I've never really done that before :poly134:
  • Shakii
    MeepoOutlineTest.png

Progress!

I'm happy with the model. I think. What I did was make two different meshes (rope/belt and crystal) and combine them. Hopefully I'm not committing some sort of 3D taboo here :(