Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

First Professional Project

plk4
polycounter lvl 6
Offline / Send Message
plk4 polycounter lvl 6
Hi guys, this is as i mentioned my first (serious) texture project and if you could help me to add some final touches to it.
render1.jpg
render3.jpgrender3.jpg
render4.jpg
render5.jpg
render2.jpg
Judge it yourself its my second ever weapon texture made and i am a complete noob when it comes to polycount so if i'm doing anything wrong tell me. Thanks for any help :)

Replies

• wright.tom85
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    This axe looks like it's pretty well-worn, but the deterioration is inconsistent between the axe and the handle; the wood and rubber grip look pretty new. Go find a fire axe (or the best substitute you can) and note where your hands are on the handle as you mock swing it. Where your hands are more commonly, the wood and rubber are probably going to be darker from skin oil stains.
  • BobtheGreatII
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    BobtheGreatII polygon
    Needs a specular map or something. Right now, at least in the renders, it's pretty dull. I'm pretty new at texturing myself, but it seems like even with a simple object, you're not quite presenting it very well.
  • plk4
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    plk4 polycounter lvl 6
    ok thanks, noted but i have to admit there is a specular but it doesnt work on max for some reason :/
  • proximity
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    proximity polycounter lvl 9
    Download the marmoset trial, or get a veiwport shader for max, Max renders will hinder your work and your workflow.

Until you can set up an amazing render you wont be able to see the maps working together properly where as getting it into marmoset will eliminate this problem and you can see exactly how each map is affecting the object :]
  • plk4
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    plk4 polycounter lvl 6
    ok downloaded marmoset and here is the result
    RLTkQ.jpg