Home Contests & Challenges Archives

[Dota 2] - Slardar - Treasure from the deeps Set - (Looking for a co-worker on this)

Starboxx
polycounter lvl 11
Offline / Send Message
Starboxx polycounter lvl 11
Hi polycounters ! So, here is my first idea of set for this contest. I don't even really know why i started on Slardar, i just kinda picked one in the list wich has his model ready.

I am pretty new to 3D, and a bit lost when it comes to the masks / exporting / shaders / bones, so i am looking for somebody wich is interested about the concept or, would like to go on an other hero with me doing the concept & a bit of 3D for it.

What i know i can do is, modelling the object, uvmapping it, bake normal maps, hand paint the textures, but for the rest... Maybe i can but i'm a bit lost, so since i can't go any further without help, the concretisation of this project really depends if i find somebody to work on this with me, & release it as a collaboration for the contest.

What i did so far is opening the slardar_model.ma, delete the bones (beceause i really don't know anything about it), replace the materials by lamberts (beceause i don't understand anything at the shaders originally into the .ma file), put the color textures on it, and screen to start painting over in photoshop.

Here is the result after about two little hours of painting / concepting.

slardarconcept01990.jpg

Replies

• DotA Fiend
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Your armor pieces are absolutely perfect for Slardar don't change a thing! I also love the scar over his left eye keep that as well! I really hope you team up with someone to complete this. Please also consider giving him an awesome weapon and maybe some more gold armor on his fins and tail.
  • Starboxx
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Thank you, but finally i'm going for a doom bringer set (didnt posted anything yet), maybe i'll continue this slardar set for the workshop after the contest.
  • B.Cobra
    Options