Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

WarTime Bedroom

polycounter lvl 7
Offline / Send Message
ladyknowles polycounter lvl 7
Hi Polycount!

Back again with another project. I'm in my final year of uni now and this is my first honours project

I'm following this concept by Jackson Sze:

Jackson_Sze_03a.jpg

36330_10152148412745037_1036144529_n.jpg

198794_10152148412570037_49345133_n.jpg

385600_10152148412855037_2119333086_n.jpg

424657_10152148412380037_435632746_n.jpg

I think I definitely need to add to the wooden floor texture, as it's just not looking right at the minute! I was going to add a ceiling fan too. Please critique!

Replies

• biofrost
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    biofrost polycounter lvl 12
    Right now is that the door looks like it is just placed in front of the wall and not actually attached to it. Im also not sure if the light would be hitting that much of the wall since the lamp you made is more covered up than the one in the concept.

I did a paintover(first time doing that yay!..sorry if its crappy)

Just made it a bit more darker since one lamp in a room won't be that bright.
    Hope this helps!
    w23Kd.jpg
  • sun_smasher
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    sun_smasher polycounter lvl 9
    Interesting concept, and overall not bad.

One thing that I noticed right away is that your textures need to be a bit more normalized to all look like they fit in the same environment. In the concept all the pieces flow together because they have the same overtone in their color, but in the render things stick out a bit. Blending is a huge part of environment making, and a large part of that comes with texture work.

I agree with above poster, that the door just kind of looks slapped on.

The lighting could probably use a bit more color to it as well, IMO.

Keep it up!
  • Quickel
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Quickel polycounter lvl 12