Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[Portfolio] - Jamie Murphy, 3D Environment Artist

polycounter lvl 8
Offline / Send Message
jamiemurphy polycounter lvl 8
Hello,

I am new to Polycount and this is my first post although i've been browsing daily for the past few weeks.

I studied Interactive Media with Animation at Sheffield Hallam University and i am now looking to enter the game industry as a environment artist.

I've been putting together a porfolio over the last few months while applying for jobs but havn't had much luck yet, it would be interesting to know what people think of my work so far.

I would really appreciate any critiques/comments or input on my models/presentation/website/anything. Thanks in advance!

jamiemurphy.co.uk

Replies

• cholden
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    cholden polycounter lvl 18
    A big problem I see is the initial page is a big picture of your face and a wall of text. Which continues to the portfolio where the thumbnails are just a little bigger than the picture of your face.

I'm all for seeing a resume/CV early, but we need content AND fast.

Modular church beauty shot is a weird stack of filters. Really damaging to the final render. The individial pieces look nice and clean. Downside is, all put together it's flat, silly and rendering in max (realtime: UDK, CE3, Unity). Five hours? Really? How about spending ten and making a good looking portfolio piece instead of crapping something out quick?

Modular building. Same thing. Listed as a 3 hour piece, it looks like a wip. Covered in UV erors since it's got depth but planar mapped. Textuer is just some blurry photos slapped together. Spend some time on something.

Football Pitch looks like the first real portfolio piece. But this piece doesn't show breakdowns. You may want to take a closer look at image quality too. Some of these JPGs seem too compressed.