Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Need UDK lighting/shadow help

Hey!
I am brand new to UDK, and i have just started texturing an environment I'm building for a school assignment and the shadows that join my static meshes are really blotchy. I've only made 2 textures so far, the walls and floor. I have done a bunch of UDK lighting tutorials about light bleeding and distance between UV's on the the second UV set of the mesh & what I should be increasing or decreasing to affect the shadow sharpness, and nothing seem to me working. Its also happening to any UDK assets I have in my environment. I have a feeling its something to do with the UDK AO being built but I'm not sure what to do to fix it. Anybody have any idea why this is still happening???

polycounthelp.jpg

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

Replies

• Arctemple
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Arctemple polycounter lvl 5
    Lucky you, easy fix! =P
    Assuming your lightmapped uvs (your second uv set) are mapped out correctly, the only problem you are having here is that the ligtmap resolution is too low. I think it defaults at like 64 or something, which is fine for smaller assets.
    All you have to do is double click your asset in the content browser and change the 'lightmap resolution size' to something like 128. You don't have to go crazy on the size, you can test that it renders correctly after you bake the lighting again.
  • SpawnAgain
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    yeah that's what i thought it was at first but all the static meshes in that shot have a light map res of 128. *shrug*
  • Arctemple
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Arctemple polycounter lvl 5
    Hmmmm interesting. Well that was my best guess =(
    If you can't figure it out, feel free to send me the scene and the upks and I'll take a look at it. Up to you.
  • JoshWilkinson
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    JoshWilkinson polycounter lvl 9