Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Character : Flying Frog- Model & Animation, image heavy!

waf
Hi guys, I'm currently studying game art and recently completed a character for a group work game in our course. The art style was meant to be cutesy and fun, textures were to be simple and flat, and we needed a flying character, so I concepted up this little fatty

ixZTw.jpg

After being given the go ahead, I sculpted & polypainted him in ZB, retopo'd in 3d coat. After that I took him to maya and rigged him up.
The major deviation from the concept was I moved his tusks from inside his mouth to outside, more like an elephant, since I'd have to make his mouth much bigger if I kept them in. That and the wing shape, I went for a more rounder look as it suited the game better.

0YJfd.jpg

The skinning took me a while (I'm terrible at it :s) however the rigging went ok. It has a lot of custom things in it since I knew exactly what I wanted out of it before animating, for example : his belly/neck/chin fat controllers, his legs don't have a reverse foot rig on them since his feet don't touch the ground, and the eyes move via the socket instead of the ball, you'll see why in the animations.

Speaking of! (For some reason in firefox these play slow for me but in chrome they're at the right speed, no idea why).

Idle, Flying

BU8XS.gifXPff5.gif

Melee Attack, Ranged Attack
YTYQc.gifV4vI9.gif

Death

CFoZ4.gif
Gamebryo Animation Tool, in-engine blending. 1080p fullscreen gogo :p
[ame="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=G0Ln-3f05vk"]Frog Animation Blending - YouTube[/ame]

Textures : 1k for body, 1k x 512 for wings, resized for here though.
gD9TCh.jpg

odQzU.jpg

Obligatory Marmy shot with wires :

BLJne.jpg

I don't have any in game footage to show just yet but in a few weeks when the frog gets implemented I'll bump with a video.