Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

18th Century Ship

Twotents
polycounter lvl 4
Offline / Send Message
Twotents polycounter lvl 4
Hey all, this is my first WIP post on Polycount yay *throws streamers*

I am working on a 18th century ship for a college project, it is still in the early block out phase but I am not 100% happy with the hull. All of it has been done in Max and the hull was made by using the rib structure from images and then plane modelling along the ribs.

It has come out fairly blobby to my eye and would appreciate any tips on how to smooth the topology a bit better so it looks less like it has warts on it :P

I have included the wires on of the hull.

This is my first attempt at making a ship though so it's been a bit of a challenge to find a workflow that I can use on it.

Replies

• AdamRodgers
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Not a bad first go chap.

A lot of the issues you have with blobbyness are the edge loops aren't straight so defining those curves is made harder. Select the verts one vertical edge loop at a time and goto front or back view and 'Align to View' this will pull them all onto the same plane then goto side view and adjust position to get them back where they were and then tidy them up from front view or bottom view and you should find its a lot less blobby.

Goodluck
  • AdamRodgers
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    You might find defining the hull profile with Splines and then lofting along a path would be more realistic to the real construction and give you a more satisfying result, as well as a lot of ability to adjust each profile spline to tweak the shape.
  • Twotents
    Options
    Offline / Send Message