Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Japanese Door Scene

polycounter lvl 9
Offline / Send Message
clearrose polycounter lvl 9
Hello, poly count ^_^ ! I'm a college student just started to take classes for game art. Besides a little bit of personal study game art is still new to me and I'm still have allot to learn ^_^ !

Anyways, for this semester I've taken an environment class and our first assignment is a door with both diffuse and normal maps, my instructor said to build up around create a little scene and most of all be creative. Textures are a combination between photos and sculpted than baked.

heres what I've gotten:

Stock used as Reference: http://toshema.deviantart.com/favourites/47039014#/d1bhcki

Renders so far:

Japdoorwip2.jpg

Japdoorwip4.jpg

JapDoorwip6.jpg

Some of my maps so far:

Stonewall_Side_aomap.png

Stonewall_side_normalmap.jpg

Shanghai_door.png

Shanghai_door_NRM.png

I hope this is ok..... I am planning to add a stone pathway to the door, lots of vegetation, and the wall behind the door is going to be a stink wall. I'm just not sure if I want to add an curve at the top or keep it straight.

Replies

• Muzzoid
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Muzzoid polycounter lvl 10
    For your first environment it is a good start.

For the door how did you make the normal map? It looks like you just got a photo of a door and ran it through a normal map filter.

It really isn't something suitable to do that for. Normal map filters are for surface details, you should be modelling a high poly and baking it to a low poly.
  • clearrose
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Muzz wrote: »
    For your first environment it is a good start.

For the door how did you make the normal map? It looks like you just got a photo of a door and ran it through a normal map filter.

It really isn't something suitable to do that for. Normal map filters are for surface details, you should be modelling a high poly and baking it to a low poly.