Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

A little something in UDK

Vizjerie
polycounter lvl 8
Offline / Send Message
Vizjerie polycounter lvl 8
Hey everyone! Few months ago i graduated from game design school and with that graduation came a vertical slice 30 minute demo game of mine to use as my portfolio piece. Ive never had any sort of official 3D training, hell ive never touched any sort of digital art programs or even photo shop until about a year ago. And i definitely didnt know anything about 3D artist communities such as this. (this is a great place btw)

Before that i was an art director on local film sets, mini series and so on. The game design program was, as the title indicated, teaching game design in every aspect. But i pretty much immediately gravitated towards the art department and i try to learn by myself as much as i can before the final project started.

So now the project is done, ive thrown it online and its gotten so great reviews as a game. A few website reviews, a few dozen Lets Play videos were made by fans, but all of which were more or less applauding the game design and mechanic element, as well as the atmosphere in the writing, performance and design.

But what I really care about is what other artists think of the art, lighting, environment and character design of the game. As i am now 100% sure that this is the path i want to follow for the rest of my life.

SO! I was hoping you guys would be so kind as to give the game a try, or even just watch the gameplay trailer and tell me what you think?
Please do give me tons of feed back, i am sure there will be plenty :) and i am excited to hear them.

Game is about 30-60 minutes long. Made in UDK with 4 guys, 1 artist (me), 1 programmer, 1 level designer and 1 sound guy over the span of 2 months.
There are 477 unique assets, 660 textures and 5 characters with 25 sets of animation. (you can easily tell which character model was the first one ive ever made lol)