Home Technical Talk

Perfectly Aligned Pixel Art Textures?

How do I get a perfectly aligned UV map? I mean pixel perfect. I'm a newbie using low polys and low res textures in an attempt to learn the basics. So apologies if the answer is obvious.

My problem is that I don't know how to properly unwrap the UV in order to be able to texture details at the pixel level throughout the model, without stretched or bisected pixels, etc... I also assumed the checkerboard was an accurate guideline to represent the pixels (the squares on the checkerboard is also how I intended to place the pixels, if that's any help).

Here's what I'm struggling with. UV unwrapping the model in Unfold3D:

TextureUV.jpg

The UV map and model in Maya, with texture applied (the dark brown line):

Maya.jpg

That dark brown line should neatly, perfectly line up with the front face; but it's also "leaking" onto the top face as well as being bisected by the seam. The height of the line is a single square pixel. This is why I need the maps to be perfect: I am drawing textures at the pixel level.

I know I'm doing something wrong. Any help is greatly appreciated!

Replies

• Autarkis
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Autarkis polycounter lvl 8
    Can you post a screenshot of your uv layout with that texture applied in the uv editor window in maya?
  • Pilamin
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Sure. Here's the texture alongside the model in Maya (I circled the parts that correspond):

MayaUV.jpg

It looks like I'm deliberately drawing the line to be messed up. But bear in mind that the PSD texture is 128x128, and so that leads me back to my issue: I'm drawing at the pixel level, and my pixel grid is not lined up properly with the UV map, thus any detail will always be far, far from where it should correspond to on the model.