Home Technical Talk

Best way to begin learning advanced modeling/texturing techniques

I am 17, and I have been experimenting with 3ds max for a while because several years ago my dad used 3ds max for his engineering job, and he had a copy of the 2003 edition, and I played with that a little. Then I got a student license of 3ds max and was able to start seriously working with it. But being as I'm still in high school and they only offer basic courses, I've pretty much only been able to learn some basic low-poly modeling skills. I'm decent at making fluid topology and shaping the model's base like I want it, but I really need to learn how to add more detail, learn the more advanced tools of 3ds max, and most of all I need some information on textures and materials. I hope I don't sound completely inexperienced when I say this, but right now all I know how to do is drag a jpeg to a material, slap it on an object, and us a UVW Map modifier and call it done. I really need to learn more about textures, being as that seems to be a major part of making a model look as great as it can. Can anyone shares some links to some tutorials? I'm looking at 3D Motive for the annual subscription but I'm really short on cash right now. Is there a less pricey/free place that I could go to? I've learned fast so far so anything you have please share! Thanks in advance!

Replies

• KingLuke24
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    I'm guessing that means I'm still on my own... crap. Lol.
  • Dan!
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Dan! polycounter lvl 6
    you made it here- start posting art. Use google, and get to work. There's no way you've been through every tutorial on the net covering game art and texturing.
  • KingLuke24
    Options
    Offline / Send Message