Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[UDK] Overgrown environment

polycounter lvl 11
Offline / Send Message
riot polycounter lvl 11
Hello polycount!

Well, first I'll introduce myself. I'm a high school student and I live in Spain. I started playing videogames when I was about 8-9 years old or so, when my father gifted me a PS2. After some time playing (about 5 years) I started to learn how to use photoshop, I was just messing around with it till it became a hobby. So I started to get interested in all about art, I also learned some basic stuff about video editing and started to love art.
So, one day I accidentally ran over a video of a level made in UDK, and I suddenly felt in love with it. I did some research and discovered it was made with UDK, a downloadable game engine and I decided to give it a try. And well, after that I started to become interested in environment art, I learned max and ZBrush and I started my first project :) . So, well, this is my first project:

The idea when I started this project was to learn how to make good foliage and a broken-down environment. So, I decided to go for an overgrown environment. This is the concept art, it is done by me:

concept_by_skate54-d5ax1d2.png

I've also made a doc with the progress and the workflow/problems, the general progress of the level for me to have, but if you want to take a look it is here. Enough talking, now let's move on to the screenshots :)

This is what I have so far, the modular walls and the bridge:

screenshot_01_by_skate54-d5c6p7q.png

screenshot_02_by_skate54-d5c6p62.png

They still need some more work but I'll leave them like this now, I will finish them when I'll have the foliage and all the assets. However, some critique and advice about what can be improved is welcome. Also, they don't have any specular maps beacause I'm kind of afraid of them, because of what I've tried so far it made 'em look like metal so I will implement them later, when I'll have the other assets.