Home Digital Sketchbooks

Sketchbook: Malin

Hey guys and gals!

Lurker finally posting in hopes of getting constructive crit and improve :) These are combined value studies and rendering practice since I'm new to Photoshop. Any suggestions will be greatly appreciated!

I found a black and white photo of an elderly lady sitting by a window and did a closeup study of her hands:
study_hands.jpg

And an attempt to do a still life:
study_fb.jpg

Anatomy practice:
sitting_study.jpg

Replies

• ErikNilsson
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    ErikNilsson polycounter
    Looks really solid matey, dont have much feedback to give. I guess that the anatomy practice is done from a ref? I was thinking about getting some bounce light in, just above the eyelids, and maybe using your background values too push back the "left" leg a bit. But really it looks great, nice depth in there. :)
  • Malin
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    @Erik: thanks for the feedback! Yep, had a reference pic for the anatomy study, and looking at it I see that the eyelids should indeed have been a bit lighter. Good point about creating more depth by pushing some parts back a bit, will definitely keep it in mind next time :)

@Teuta: tack sötis! <3 Börjar se vettigt ut nu iaf :)
  • Malin
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    I wanted to try a modular approach to creating thumbnails, so I made random marker squiggles that I scanned and then just played around with in PS. Here are the first results:

silhouettes.jpg

Good old pencil and paper studies :)

drapery_study_1.jpg

study_hands_2.jpg
  • davidosterlind
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    davidosterlind polycounter lvl 5
    Wow! Great job! You have really improved your PS skills! Your Values are really good, Maybe you should try working with harder brushes or different opacity to achieve more definition. I sense you have done just that working on the still life, its more crisp in a way.