Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Critique my environment?

Hey there. I've been working on this environment for my last portfolio piece. This is my first attempt at hand painted textures and I would definitely love feedback. It was rendered in UDK.757b28102454ad2954fabef8d8ea39b6.jpg

Things I personally would like to fix but do not know how are; I would like to change the leaves. I was going for a paint splatter cartoony leaf feel but they just kinda look like giant blades... I also wanted to know if anyone knew of any good vertex painting tutorials? I've seen the one on eat3d but I can't help but feel there is an easier way.

Replies

• Mask_Salesman
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Mask_Salesman polycounter lvl 13
    Are there any textures on this? I think invoking that kind of question points out a place to start lol.
    I'd suggest getting some reference for the style & technique your choosing, also that tricount is nuts for whats actually there.

Gud luck with it kiddo.
  • lansay
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    mmm I should have mentioned this is just part of an interactive environment. Also the style I am going for is Free Realms.
  • LMP
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    LMP polycounter lvl 13
    Your lighting is too all over the place. It's too dark, too bright, and to randomly colored. Let your textures do the color work, and let the lighting bring consistency and mood to the scene.
  • J0NNYquid
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    J0NNYquid polycounter lvl 5
    That moon in the background really strikes me. I think there's a lot of potential in this environment. Texturing definitely needs some work, lighting as well. This is just my opinion but I'd really use that moon as a launching point. It's very Van Gogh "Starry Night" to me, and I'd love to see that style continued through the rest of this environment.
  • mospheric
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    mospheric polycounter lvl 11