Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

FF7 Character Modelling - New to modelling

Hi, im pretty new to modelling. I figured I'd learn by trying to model some of the characters from my favourite game, Final Fantasy 7. I'm using Maya. I tried using Zbrush, but i quite like the methodical way of modelling in Maya. I may venture back into zbrush at some point, seeing what can be done with it.

Tifa
The hair is just temporary while I figure everything out

fgfgggf.png

fhgfhfg.png

gfhgfhgf.png

Replies

• Marchwarden
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Oh wow, are you completely new to 3d in general? Because this is fantastic for a beginner, especially considering this is all subdiv and no Zbrush, great job. It's obvious you have a strong artistic foundation, and it's only proof that that is the real requirement in this field.

Keep going on these, they're great. My advice to you is after you finish these to dive into Zbrush. It's completely different from sub-d modeling, but you'll soon learn to love it.
  • Pixel
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Well, I tried about a year ago, making something using nurb curves, following a tutorial, but i wasnt getting the results i wanted and lost interest. I dived back in a few days ago just modelling with polygons. I find i get much better results. I think im a bit lacking in technical skills with maya right now
  • ZeroStrike
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    ZeroStrike polycounter lvl 8
    Zbrush is much more like tradition clay sculpting. Its alot more naturel feeling the characters come to life instead of having to move around single verts. Have you ever use Maya's Soft Selection tool? Its like a whole program and more...MUCH more based off just the concept of that tool. Good luck to you. Alots of learning ahead. Here are some introduction videos from zbrushcentral http://www.pixologic.com/zclassroom/homeroom/lesson/introduction-videos/

It might give you some idea of what the program does.
  • Pixel