Home General Discussion

Im an artist

Ive done all kinds of work; grocery, food ind, paper mill, blockbuster, gamestop, fed ex, pizza delivery and now im working at buffalo wild wings.
No matter what i do, i always come back to art. Illustration, character art and everything else creative. I would rather do this than anything else.
Some people called it nuts but last year i went door to door in austin tx. Arkane, twisted pixel many others shook my hand. The truth is my art is cool, its experienced im just not the artist most game companies expect to hire. Ive seen mind blowing work on this forum. Ive recieved great advice, often times the advice i recieve sends me in different directions. Do this. Dont do this. Too light. To dark. Bottom line is illustration is my passion, i might never find welcoming arms in this industry. Ive been a week away from attending fullsail twice to further my education. Been told not to, been told it would be a mistake not to. My whole world, my friends, family and work experience all point to my art. Im just lost. Closed doors, long roads and astronomical expectations leave me, metaphorically, staring at the blank paper in front of me. Wondering, what next? How? Any other artists face this kind of a crossroads? Any adivice? I know as an artist i cant do hotwings the rest of my life. Sitting on the talents God gave me. Real talk, super serious, sounds like crying but just total concern for the future. Im just a dude with a pen in his hand and looking for answers.

Replies

• DrunkShaman
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    DrunkShaman polycounter lvl 14
    You are at the stage of learning process where most artists require a push that allows you to see that this is where you take off the training wheels and push your skills beyond limits. It is what I am trying to do right now.

The only way to do this is do massive practice while comparing your art with others to see what are you missing.
  • ceebee
    Options