Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Wild West Test level

renren22
polycounter lvl 18
Offline / Send Message
renren22 polycounter lvl 18
Hi Guys,

I am a freelance games artist (offsite only at the moment but available!).

I was inspired by Choco/Wenda's landscape tutorial on polycount/crynet and started to create a barren landscape while getting to grips with Cryengine 3.

Halfway I decided to turn it into more of a deserted Wild West.This would make the level more original compared to the heavily forested Cryengine levels.And also the architecture is very simple to build/texture.I'm also a big Red Dead Redemption fan!

A lot more could be put into the level (more buildings,wagons,lamps,wells etc) but
time was against me and this was meant to be a small test level to learn the basics of level building in Cryengine.

I am happy to answer any questions you may have (if any!).

A short HD video is here - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CDttPpkkM7M&feature=youtu.be
High resolution pics here - http://www.flickr.com/photos/3dcraig/
My site has more pics and information on the levels construction here - http://www.3dcraig.com

Replies

• renren22
    Offline / Send Message
  • JonMurphy
    Offline / Send Message
    JonMurphy polycounter lvl 18
    Liking it, Craig. One thought niggling at me is the terrain might be a little peaky
  • glottis8
    Offline / Send Message
    glottis8 polycounter lvl 9
    You need dust being carried all over the place. You have all of the plants swaying around without any hints of dirt getting dragged around. There is that, and for some reason your plants just look floaty. I know its mainly because they don't cast shadows. So they just look overlayed. Anything you can do about that?I think that the plants movements don't need to be so severe, unless you are going for a really big gust of wind. Little movements goes a long way for ambiance.