polycounter lvl 14
Offline / Send Message
ScottHoneycutt polycounter lvl 14
Render-2.jpg

pic04.jpg

pic02-1.jpg

pic03.jpg

webQuestion3-1.jpg

This is a still based on a screen from Castlevania 2 for NES. Rendered in UDK, Modeled in 3ds Max, textured in Photoshop and the normals were generated in X-Normal via height maps. I modeled this back in the winter but never finished it until now. I'm surprised at how well it turned out but I'd like to hear how everyone else thinks. Thanks!

Replies

• ScottHoneycutt
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    still2.jpg

Over a year later I have a new version of this image. The previous was shown in Unreal, while this is my first attempt at using the Xoliul shader in 3ds Max. I remade the textures a bit and believe this version to be a bit more interesting. The old ground needed to go. All thoughts are welcome. Thanks!
  • DougClayton4231
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    DougClayton4231 polycounter lvl 3
    It looks nice :) Are you planning on adding some of the holes from the NES shot?
  • sushi
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    The scene looks great to start, although it could be greatly improved with debris and detail on the ground, and more focus on lighting. Are you using specular maps?
  • SergeiMirminski
    I don't feel like that type of rock was used in medieval castle construction. It looks like sheet rock on the side of a cliff. In the reference the stone is cut into linear blocks.
  • Dennispls
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Dennispls polycounter lvl 16
    I'm with Sergei here that the wall material does not look believable. I also feel the noisyness of the textures is very high. The normalmap does not help with that either as it looks like it was generated by a normalmap filter in photoshop.
    Try to establish a clean material and add detail from there.
  • gsokol
    Options
    Offline / Send Message