Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[Feedback] what to change

General critiques would be much apreiciated i am just starting out and would apriciate any feed back

A forrest scene
render2.jpg
render6.jpg

Ammit the devourer of souls [toon] style
ammit_the_devourer_of_hearts_by_anarcy-d50vcpn.jpg

Replies

• DBentley
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Hey Anarcy!

For someone starting out, this is looking pretty good - Bounds above where I was when I started. Just a couple suggestions to help push things further:

I like the idea that you're trying to get across in this first environment, though I feel there's a few things you could do to make it feel more alive.

A good rule of thumb is to have a reason for everything, always try to be telling a story, whether it's a character piece, or environment piece. As it stands, I'm not sure what the glowing mushroom trail is leading me to - Clearly, a pitch black cave, but what's inside that cave? A mine shaft? A troll's hovel? That's up to you, really. Instead of ending your story at the cave entrance, push it further down, show us what's in that dark tunnel.

On another note, I would look up reference for mushrooms. A quick google search tells me that it's not generally common to see mushrooms by themselves like that. It might help to add some visual flare if you have patches of mushrooms growing, rather than singular fungi.

While on the subject of the flora, I might look at adding MORE. Your current color palette is very limited - I count maybe 4 different colors - Flora is a great way to add some hue variation and push the believability of your scene. Maybe look into having moss growing on the rocks, as well as shrubs, ferns, and even flowers. You can also use these things to cover up abrupt seams, as an example, the seam between your ground and the rocks.